Dear Children

Letters From A Father's Heart

To Be Ashamed Of God Is To Judge God

Dear children,

God is real.  He is the creator of everything, and He is the creator of you.  God is also good.  But he is not good according to man’s judgement of what good is.  He is good according to His own standard.  And in that God is good, he is necessarily just.  He judges all things rightly.  And there we, his creation, find ourselves in an overwhelming predicament, for we are not good, according to God’s judgements.  God’s justice rightly condemns us because all have broken His law.  But there is good news!  God loved this world in such a way that we do not have to abide in God’s wrath.  He sent His son to pray the price for our sin.  That, dear children, is the best news you will ever hear.

Yet, here is the problem for sinful man, even in light of God’s Gospel.  Here I will let the Bible speak, for I do not want you to think it is me saying this:

What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God’s part? By no means! For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” So then it  [salvation] depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy. (Rm 9:15-16)

This is, in my own opinion, one of the most difficult passages in the Bible.  But whose opinion is my opinion?  Am I in a position to judge God?  Of course not!  Should I be ashamed to serve a God who has mercy on some and not others?  On the contrary, I have but one question that matters more than any other.  Did He in fact have mercy on me?  Like the old Hymn, which was sung as a prayer, says: “Just as I am without one plea, but that thy blood was shed for me…”  But the writer understood that there was more, and that “more” is of the utmost importance.  So he adds to his one plea another: “…and that Thy bidest me come to thee..”  This is the question that you ought to be asking also, and pleading to God that He grant to you His mercy so that you may come to Him.

So here is the objection that causes many Christians to be ashamed of their God.  It normally goes something like this:  “What about the man who has lived his whole life in some remote tribe, and who has never heard the Gospel?  What happens to that man when he dies?”  I admit that this is one of the most difficult questions that you will ever be asked.  I think Paul answers the question in this same chapter, Romans 9, albeit not an answer that anyone likes.  And while probably millions of pages have been written in attempts to answer this very old question, the only point I want to get across to you now is to not ever be ashamed of your God for not having mercy on some, for to be ashamed of your God you must first judge your God… and that will never do.  God is our creator.  He can do with us as He pleases, and in the end He will still be good according to the only standard that matters, His.

We must begin all of our thinking with God, and then work our way from Him to man; not the other way around.  We start with God, who is good, holy, righteous and perfect.  Whatever He does, regardless of what we think, does not change that fact.  What we think doesn’t matter because our thinking has been corrupted with sin.  We, as mere men, are in no place to judge God for his decisions.  He can do as he pleases, even if it doesn’t please us.  But then again, that is the very thing that we have to be thankful for.  For it pleased God to send his Son to die on the cross so that we can escape His wrath.  He poured out that wrath on His sinless Son!  We, as sinful man, are in big trouble without this sacrifice.

I saw a bumper-sticker once that said “Born Ok The First Time”.  Born OK?  According to whose standard?  God says that we were born not OK and that we need to be born again.  That was His decree.  We must put our faith in His mercy, and plead with Him that His blood was shed for us, and also that He bid us come.  We must be born again.  We must not be ashamed of God because He does not measure up to man’s–read, our own–ideas of justice.  Look about you, man’s justice is corrupt.  You don’t need a magnifying glass to understand that.  The last thing in this world that we should desire is that God would live up to our views of “justice”.

I believe that both of you are born again.  But so many children in this day get caught up in this world.  Troubles come and they fall away.  The cares of this world and the deceitfulness of wealth can choke out your faith.  And many young abandon their faith when they are older.  I pray that you would grasp that, no greater love is there than the laying down of one’s life for another.  I pray for you daily that God would bid you come.  I pray that God would grow you up into people who are according to the Spirit, and not the flesh.  I pray that you both would become mighty warriors in God’s army, and that you would not be lost to God’s wrath. I pray that he would overcome my failures and weaknesses as a mere man, and direct your eyes and your minds to Himself.  It is my number one prayer for you.  And again I pray that God would grant me this one desire, Amen.

Your father.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “To Be Ashamed Of God Is To Judge God

  1. O LORD, give us more men who will admonish their children to recognize that we do not sit in judgment of God, our Creator, and that He alone judges, and that He does so Righteously.
    I thank God, Danny, for your faithfulness to our Him, and to your children.

  2. Your children are most blessed!!!

Leave a Reply

